Tags

,

My friend and fellow writer, Beth (aka Betty) Barnett posted a piece to her blog, Beth’s Everything Blog, entitled, Patient Control, which talks about current hospital processes as taking control away from the patient and making them feel helpless. She ends her piece with the conclusion that “caregivers must be facilitators, not dictators.” To read her piece, click on the link above.

When I finished reading her post, my neck muscles had tensed at the memories of my own experiences in the hospital and nursing home with my mother. So much so, I had a headache.

At eighty-four when Mom entered the hospital for her second major surgery, a hip replacement, she lived independently in her own house, maintained the yard, paid her bills and managed her own money. She prided herself on her independence. she retained her capacity for making sound decisions if people took the time to explain her choices to her.

Many caregivers from doctors to nurses to hospital personnel had little or no time for explanations something I didn’t know prior to Mom’s surgery. My friends had told me horror stories, but I hadn’t really listened.

After my mother’s surgery and week-long, in-patient recovery, she could walk okay. Being in the hospital, she had run around in her hospital gown never having to put on her clothes. People brought her her meals, took her to the bathroom and bathed her. They’d babied her.

I spoke with her one day and she said, “I get out of the hospital tomorrow about noon.”

I assumed (thus making an ass out of myself) that she would go to a rehabilitation facility to learn how to walk up stairs, climb in and out of a car, bathe on a shower stool and learn what equipment we would need to buy so she could go back to a house not equipped for a person with a hip replacement. I arrived early enough to hear the nurse tell my mother that the doctor would discharge her home as soon as he arrived.

“What? Home? As in her house with the twenty-five stairs from the street to her front door?” I asked, not believing what I’d heard.

The nurse looked at me with that “oh-you’re-the-troublemaking-son” look. “There are no orders to discharge her to the rehabilitation facility downtown. She’s going home.”

My mother sat in bed listening to our conversation as though we were talking about the weather and not her.

“Don’t leave this bed, Mom. I’m going to have a conversation with the social worker.”

When I found the social worker’s cubbyhole, I took her only paper-free chair. “I just learned that my mother, Mrs. Chrisman, is being discharged to her home.”

The social worker smiled. “Yes, today is the day she leaves us. She’s ready to go back to her house. That’s all she’s been talking about since I told her. You’re probably here to get the list of things she’ll need to make a safe transition to her own home. Let’s see…here it is…a toilet seat elevator, a shower chair, a cane…”

“Are you people nuts?” I asked, a little perturbed. “My mother is 84 years old and has been flat on her back most of the time she’s been in this place. When she goes home today, which she isn’t doing by the way, she had 25 stairs to climb to even reach the front door of her house. Who’s brilliant idea was it to send her home?”

“Well, her hospitalist said she was well enough to live by herself.”

“That may be, but she needs to build up her strength again before she goes back home.”

At this point the social worker had developed an attitude. “Your mother is competent, isn’t she?”

“Yes, what does…”

“She never said anything about wanting to go to rehabilitation.”

I slapped my forehead with the palm of my hand. “Did anyone explain to her she had a choicer?”

“Not that I know.”

“Lady, with all due respect to you and this poorly run hospital, why do you expect elderly people to know these things? My mother depends on people like you to do your job, which includes explaining her options to her.”

“There isn’t any reason to get mad, Mr….”

“Huh? This hospital is about to send my mother home to live totally unprepared and I’m not to get mad. You better rethink that statement.” I paused for effect and also to keep from swearing. “My mother is going nowhere but the rehab facility. Do you understand?”

“Is that what she wants?”

“It will be in about ten minutes so get the paperwork started so I can take her downtown.”

“Oh, if she goes to rehab, we’ll do a transfer by ambulance.”

And, that’s what happened. An ambulance took my mother to rehab where she spent a little over two weeks before she had enough strength to walk any distance at all, before she could even climb stairs and before she learned how to use various assistive devices to make dressing and self-care much easier. Two weeks to learn necessary skills in rehab that she would have missed because she didn’t know they existed and the people who did weren’t telling her.

As I said in my comment to Betty’s post, everyone who goes to the doctor or hospital for life-threatening conditions or surgery should have at least one patient advocate who accompanies them and protects them from the blissful ignorance of some caregivers. We owe that to our family and friends, especially those who are elderly.